SS18 News - Select 2018 Faculty and Student Awards

You are here

Emily Banach, Kara Dean, & Emma Heckelsmiller Receive College of Engineering Service Awards

Photo of Emily Banach, Kara Dean, & Emma Heckelsmiller with College of Engineering Service Awards

Engineering Student Service Award Winners!
(L to R) Kara Dean, Emma Heckelsmiller, & Emily Banach
Presented at Evening with Executives, February 21, 2018.  

Students are nominated by faculty, staff, and students, and selections were made by a student-faculty committee. 

  1. The nominee must be a student in an engineering major.  Up to 12 students will be recognized. Nominations will be reviewed within each class year.
  2. Nominations can be based on any one or more of the following criteria:
  • Involvement in some departmental laboratory or service functions above and beyond the requirements of his/her degree program.  This category can include such activities as committee service to the department, undergraduate research, laboratory assistant, grader, undergraduate learning assistant, etc. Paid work will not disqualify the candidate, but the selection will be based on activities above and beyond the job duties.
  • Significant activities in student organization(s) which have rendered exceptional service to the department, college or university, and reflect credit on the college.
  • External service to the community will also be considered, but nominee must also demonstrate activity within the department or college.

Ian Kropp BE Graduate Student receives C.S. Mott Pre-doctoral Fellowship

Ian Kropp - Recipient of C.S. Mott Predoctoral Fellowship in Sustainable Agriculture

Ian was selected to receive a C.S. Mott Predoctoral Fellowship in Sustainable Agriculture. This is a three-year award beginning in January 2019 and will be renewed each year based on the recipient's progress toward their degree. This year the fellowship totals $11,500 with the total value for three years being $35,000 (distributed as 11,500 and 12,000 in Years Two and Three). Ian and Dr. Nejadhashemi, his advisor, also will be invited to a CSUS grad award reception in the spring of 2019 where he will receive a wall plaque in recognition of this award.

Dr. Marks receives the 2018 Withrow Teaching Excellence Award. 

Photo of Dr. Marks receiving Withrow Teaching Excellence Award 

Photo of Dr. Marks Receiving Withrow Teaching Excellence Award 

Each year, students in the College of Engineering nominate faculty members for this prestigious honor, which is based on excellence in teaching and mentorship. Dr. Marks, professor and associate chair of the Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering, is a gifted educator who makes difficult concepts easy to comprehend and apply outside the classroom. His student evaluations are consistently among the highest on campus, with a mean overall rating of more than 3.9 (on a 4.0 scale) over 40 courses and 18 years at MSU.

Read More on the 2018 Withrow Awards 

Dr. Srivastava Receives 2018 Withrow Endowed Global Leadership Award

Photo of Dr. Srivastava receiving 2018 Withrow Endowed Global Leadership Award

Photo of Dr. Ajit Srivastava Receiving Withrow Endowed Global Leadership Award

This new award recognizes faculty and staff members who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in advancing global scholarship through research, teaching and outreach. Dr. Srivastava was cited for career contributions that have made a significant impact in advancing global engagement and strategic programs in international scholarship and student experiences. In addition to serving as BAE department chair for nearly 18 years, Dr. Srivastava was a founding codirector of the Global Center for Food Systems Innovation (GCFSI) funded by a $25 million grant from the USAID Global Innovation Lab. 

Read More on the 2018 Withrow Awards