Honors and Awards (Not updated, for an up-to-date information, please see Prof.'s Deb's CV)

  • "IEEE CIS Distinguished Lecturer Award" received from IEEE Computational Intelligence Society, 2014--2016.

  • "Honarary Doctorate Degree" from the Faculty of Information Technology, University of Jyvaskyla, Finland, 2013.

  • "Fellow" of ASME in 2013.

  • "Fellow" of IEEE in 2012.

  • "Wiley Practice Prize" from the International Society on Multi-Criterion Decision Making (MCDM), 2013.

  • "TWAS Prize in Engineering Sciences" from the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Italy, 2012.

  • "Infosys Prize" in Engineering and Computer Science from Infosys Science Foundation, Bangalore, India, 2011.

  • "J. C. Bose National Fellowship" from Department of Science and Technology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, New Delhi, India, 2011.

  • "Cajastur Mamdani Prize" from European Centre for Soft Computing, Spain, 2011.

  • "Distinguished Alumnus Award" from Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, 2011.

  • "VELUX Foundation Guest Professorship" at Technical University of Denmark (DTU), 2011--2012.

  • Prof. Deb's 2002 IEEE TEC paper on NSGA-II is declared as a Current Classic and Most Highly Cited Paper by Science Watch of Thomson Reuters in June 2002.

  • Elected as an Executive Committee Member of International Multiple Criterion Decision Making (MCDM) Society (27 March 2008) for a three-year term.

  • International Multiple Criterion Decision Making (MCDM) Society confers the 2008 'MCDM Edgeworth-Pareto Award' to Prof. Kalyanmoy Deb. Click here to see a photo.

  • Dr. Kalyanmoy Deb is one of the five recipients of the `Thomson Citation Laureate Award', an award given to an Indian Researcher for making most highly cited research contribution during 1996-2005 in a particular discipline according to ISI Web of Science. Click here for a press release by Thomson Scientific. He received this award in the Computer Science discipline.

  • Dr. Kalyanmoy Deb has been honored with the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize in Engineering Sciences for the year 2005.

  • FELLOW, Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)

  • FELLOW, International Society for Genetic and Evolutionary Computation (ISGEC)

  • Fredrick Wilhelm Bessel Research Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany

  • Humboldt Fellowship, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany

  • Member, Executive Committee, ISGEC

  • Member, Council of Authors, ISGEC

  • Member, Council of Conferences, ISGEC

  • Senior Member, IEEE

  • Steering Committee Member,
  • Evolutionary Multi-Criterion Optimization (EMO)

  • Associate Editor,
  • Evolutionary Computation Journal, MIT Press

  • Associate Editor,
  • IEEE Transactions in Evolutionary Computation, IEEE Press

  • Editorial Board Member,
  • Engineering Optimization Journal, Taylor & Francis

  • Editorial Board Member,
  • Genetic Programming and Evolvable Machines, Kluwer Academic Publishers

  • Editorial Board Member,
  • Applied Soft Computing Journal, Elsevier Science

  • Editorial Board Member,
  • Evolutionary Optimization Journal, Polish Academy of Sciences

  • Associate Editor,
  • Handbook of Evolutionary Computation
    Oxford University Press, New York, USA

  • Guest editor of three journal issues
    1. A special issue entitled `Multi-Criterion Optimization
    2. Evolutionary Computation Journal
      Volume 8, Number 2
      Year 2000

    3. A special issue entitled `Evolutionary Computation Methods in Engineering'
    4. Journal `Computer Methods in Applied Mechanics and Engineering (CMAME)
      Volume 186, Numbers 2-4
      Year 2000

    5. A special issue entitled `Genetic Algorithms'
    6. Journal of `Computer Science and Informatics'
      Volume 26, Number 4
      Year 1998

    Prof. Deb is in the Programme Committee of the following Conferences:

  • International Program Committee Member

  • Fourth International Conference on Applied Mathematics and Engineering Sciences
    Casablanca, Morroco
    October 23-25, 2002

  • Program Committee Member

  • Parallel Problem Solving from Nature - VII
    Granada, Spain
    September 2002

  • Steering Committee Member

  • Seventh International Workshop on Optimisation and Inverse Problems in Electromagnetism-OIPE2002
    Lodz, Poland
    September 2002

  • Scientific Committee Member

  • IUTAM/ISSMO Symposium on Evolutionary Methods in Mechanics
    Cracow, Poland
    September 24-27, 2002

  • Visionary, Steering Committee Member and Conference Chair

  • Evolutionary Multi-Criterion Optimization (EMO-2001)
    Zurich, Switzerland
    March 7-9, 2001

    Prof. Deb is a recipient of the following awards and fellowships:

  • Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award,
  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany, 2003

  • Humboldt Fellowship,
  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany,
    June 1998--July 1999

  • AICTE Career Award for Young Teachers
  • All India Council for Technical Education, 1996--1997

  • INAE Young Engineer Award
  • Indian National Academy of Engineering 1996

  • Best Journal Paper Award
  • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
    Journal of Transportation Engineering

  • First prize in All India Students Design Competition
  • Institution of Engineers, India, August 1995

  • DST Young Scientist Project Award
  • Department of Science and Technology, India, June 1994

  • Graduate Research Council Fellowship
  • University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, USA, August 1989 - May 1991 (2 years)

  • Jefferson Goblet Student Award
  • 31st Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Conference
    AIAA/ASME/ASCE/ASC/AHS, Long Beach, California, USA, April 1990

  • Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant
  • Department of Engineering Mechanics, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, USA, 1989-1990, 1990-1991 Academic years

  • Outstanding Master's Thesis Award
  • College of Engineering and Department of Engineering Mechanics,
    University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, USA 1989-1990

  • Best Student in Mechanical Engineering (Amlan Sen Memorial award)
  • Best Student in Industrial Management Program
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur