Three College of Engineering Individuals Win Curricular Service-Learning and Civic Engagement Awards

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

December 20, 2012

Tim HindsThree individuals from the College of Engineering were among 37 recipients of Michigan State University's Curricular Service-Learning and Civic Engagement Awards.

The team of College of Engineering staff membersTim Hinds, academic specialist, and Sandra Christlieb, specialist, along with Stephen Blosser, assistive technology specialist with MSU's Resource Center for Persons with Disabilities, were recognized for their work in incorporating service learning into the EGR 100 curriculum. Susan Masten, professor of civil and environmental engineering, was recognized for her work with Engineers without Borders.

Sandra ChristliebThe annual awards recognize innovative and/or sustained effort in the area of academic, curricular, or co-curricular service-learning/civic engagement that is specifically linked with the mission and efforts of each college at Michigan State University.

“Our university has a long, proud tradition of supporting service-learning and civic engagement. Administrators, faculty, staff, and students continually demonstrate the knowledge, energy, and enthusiasm to create positive changes in our society. These award recipients represent the best of those efforts during 2011 and 2012, and we congratulate them on their hard work, focus, and willingness to make a difference,” said Karen McKnight Casey, director of the Center for Service-Learning and Civic Engagement.

Susan MastenThe MSU Center for Service-Learning and Civic Engagement, in partnership with the Office of the Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement, the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs and Services, and with endorsement from the Office of the Provost, initiated the awards in 2008. Each college dean is asked to name a faculty member, academic staffer, or other individual for the award.

The College of Engineering award recipients were nominated for the honor by Satish Udpa, dean of the College of Engineering, and Thomas Wolff, associate dean of the college.

The awards were presented at a ceremony on November 9, 2012, at MSU's Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center.

Read more about the awards