Materials Science Junior Named Goldwater Scholar

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

March 31, 2011

Kaitlin Tyler, a materials science and engineering junior and an Honors College member, has been named a Goldwater Scholar.

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation awarded 275 scholarships for the 2011–2012 academic year to undergraduate sophomores and juniors from the United States. The Goldwater Scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,095 mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide.

The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields.

Tyler, who is from Apple Valley, Minnesota, was a professorial assistant during her first two years at MSU and is currently studying the significance of microcracks on bone-forming osteoblasts on hydroxyapatite in the laboratory of Melissa Baumann, associate professor of chemical engineering and materials science, and associate dean of MSU’s Honors College. Tyler is an active member of Tau Beta Pi and is involved with the Society of Women Engineers as the secretary for the 2010-2011 school year. She plans to pursue a PhD in biomedical materials science and engineering and conduct research with implants and other medical devices. She is the daughter of Karna and Paul Tyler.

The Goldwater Scholarship, the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields, was established in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater. The Foundation has awarded more than 6,600 scholarships worth approximately $50 million over the years.

The one- and two-year scholarships cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

For more information about Goldwater Scholarships