Another Goldwater nominee

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Jan. 26, 2016

Chemical engineering major nominated for national Goldwater Scholarship

A chemical engineering major is among four undergraduate researchers nominated by Michigan State University for the nationally competitive Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.Laura Azouz becomes the fifth student in the MSU College of Engineering to be nominated by MSU for the nationally competitive Goldwater Scholarship since 2014.

Laura Azouz, an Honors College junior, becomes the fifth student in the MSU College of Engineering to be nominated by MSU for a Goldwater Scholarship since 2014. The scholarship provides funding for undergraduate tuition and living expenses.

The Goldwater Foundation seeks scholars committed to a career in science, mathematics, or engineering who display intellectual intensity and who have the potential for significant future contribution in their chosen field.  MSU has produced 42 Goldwater Scholars since the scholarship program was established by Congress in 1986.

Azouz is a U.S. citizen who grew up in Cairo, Egypt. She graduated from the International School of Elite Education.

Her list of honors includes the Jeffrey Cole Excellence Award, the M. G. & S. V. Larian Memorial Fund Scholarship, the Honors College National Scholarship, and the Yates/ACS Chemistry Award. 

Azouz works in the College of Engineering’s Whitehead Laboratory designing and engineering proteins. She also earned a first place award for her poster presentation at the 2015 University Undergraduate Research and Arts Forum. 

“After graduating with my bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering (with a concentration in biochemical engineering), I plan to conduct research on molecular design of proteins. I am committed to finding more affordable ways to provide vaccines to developing countries because of my experience growing up in Egypt,” Azouz said.

MSU’s three other nominees are:

• Honors College junior Kiera Fisher, who is majoring in biomedical laboratory science in the Lyman Briggs College;

• Honors College junior Thomas Grubb, who is majoring in mathematics, advanced in the College of Natural Science and economics in the College of Social Science; and

• Honors College junior Hananiel Setiawan, who is majoring in physics in the College of Natural Science.

Read more on MSU’s Goldwater Scholar nominees: