Engineering News

Commencement - Spring 2018: Kelly Patterson, a senior in mechanical engineering with a concentration in biomechanics, will present “Engineering Builds Character” as the senior class address.
Kelly Patterson to offer Commencement address as MSU Engineering says good-bye to 824 graduates.
The 2018 Claud R. Erickson Distinguished Alumni Award goes to Jianchang "JC" Mao, corporate vice president for artificial intelligence and research at Microsoft.
JC Mao to receive 2018 Claud Erickson Distinguished Alumni Award for significant achievement May 5.
Karen Sadler and MSU Head Football Coach Mark Dantonio presented the 2018 Mike Sadler Competitive Edge Award to the winning team (front, left) Karen Sadler, Hao Shen, Paul Rankin, Detong Che, Zixuan Zhang, Coach Mark Dantonio, and (back) AES Director Laura Genik, Charlie Morgan, Tim Els, Patrick Donovan, and Joe Backlas.
Karen Sadler and Football Coach Mark Dantonio returned to the college to present this year's award.
Teams like Samantha Oldenburg, Mustafa Jebara, Dane Rosseter, Alex Wuillaume, and Shun Ran have completed their Design Day projects and will be among the 1,100 engineering students presenting Friday at Spring Design Day. This Computer Science & Engineering team created a mobile app that enables people with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy to regain control of their arms and experience a much larger range of motion.
More than 1,100 engineering students will present their innovative projects Friday at Design Day.
Freshman Megan Phanrisvong is among the CoRe students who use the updated lobby in East Wilson Hall provided by Consumers Energy and Consumers Energy Foundation.
Megan Phanrisvong is among the students who use the updated lobby on second floor, East Wilson Hall.
Lawrence Drzal (with family in photo) and Donald Morelli were awarded two of MSU's top tech awards during ceremonies on April 19, 2018.
Drzal and Morelli honored with MSU Technology Transfer Achievement and Innovation of Year Awards.
Michigan State University will use $231,000 from the Federal Highway Administration for the development of highway work zone safety guideline materials. The grant runs through 2021.
MSU helping Federal Highway Administration develop highway work zone safety guideline materials.
Laurie and Manooch Koochesfahani and Katy Luchini Colbry (right) welcomed Thomas D. Jeitschko Thursday at the 2018 Engineering Graduate Research Symposium. Thomas offered remarks during the luncheon and told the engineering graduate students that their research efforts today will solve problems 20-25 years out. “I’m excited to see the work that you do.” Thomas is the associate provost for graduate education and dean of MSU’s Graduate School.
Almost 300 poster presentations highlight this year’s celebration of graduate student research.
John Verboncoeur of Michigan State University will receive the Richard F. Shea Distinguished Member Award from the Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society (NPSS) of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) during ceremonies in June.
Associate dean to receive international distinguished member award from IEEE NPSS.
Robert Y. Ofoli of Michigan State University has been elected a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AlChE).
Associate professor of chemical engineering elected Fellow of AlChE.