Six Spartan Engineers receive All-University Awards

May 9, 2023

MSU honors excellence in work and contributions

Irene Xagoraraki, Katy Luchini Colbry, Dean Leo Kempel, Susan Masten, Laura Dillon, and Xiaobo Tan were recognized by MSU for the excellence in their contributions to MSU.

Faculty and staff members in the Michigan State University College of Engineering received six of MSU’s highest honors during the 2022-2023 All-University Awards on May 8.

The awards recognize the excellent work of MSU’s faculty, academic specialists, graduate students, and executive leaders.

This year’s recipients from the College of Engineering are:

William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award 

Awards are based on a comprehensive and sustained record of scholarly excellence in research and/or creative activities, instruction, and outreach.

  • Xiaobo Tan, Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering 
  • Irene Xagoraraki, Civil and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering 

Distinguished Academic Staff Award 

These awards are given to academic specialists and MSU Extension academic staff for extraordinary achievements, excellence, and exceptional contributions in advising, curriculum development, outreach, extension, research, and/or teaching.

  • Katy Luchini Colbry, College of Engineering 

President's Distinguished Teaching Award 

This award is given to faculty who have created innovative teaching environments that enable student learning within and across disciplinary, cultural, and ethnic boundaries.

  • Susan Masten, Civil and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering 

Robert F. Banks Award for Institutional Leadership 

This award is presented to a member of the faculty, academic staff, or support staff in recognition of extraordinary and sustained institutional leadership that advances MSU’s commitment to connectivity, quality, and inclusion.

  • Leo Kempel, Dean's Office, College of Engineering 

Faculty Emeriti Association Award for “Outstanding Contributions by an Individual or Team of Faculty" 

This award recognizes an individual MSU Faculty Emeritus or Emerita or a team of Emeriti faculty who following retirement have served the university community through contributions to a unit or program.

  • Laura Dillon, Computer Science and Engineering, College of Engineering

See the entire list of this year’s MSU winners here.