Congratulations: 2023 Engineering and Withrow Award winners

March 14, 2023

Seventeen to be honored at 33rd Annual Engineering Awards

The Michigan State University College of Engineering will recognize 17 top faculty and staff members for excellence in service and distinguished contributions during the 33rd Annual Engineering Awards. The honors are among the college’s most prestigious and will be presented on Wednesday, March 22, at 5:30 p.m. at the University Club.

The College of Engineering will hand out top awards to faculty and staff on March 22.
The College of Engineering will hand out top awards to faculty and staff on March 22.

Engineering Dean Leo Kempel congratulated the 2023 recipients and thanked them for their contributions and achievements.

“Each year, the winners of our faculty and staff awards exemplify dedication and excellence in academia,” Kempel said. “I extend my sincerest congratulations to this year’s winners and convey the gratefulness of our college community for their many contributions.”

The Withrow Endowed Teacher/Scholar/Service Award program was established through a gift from Jack Withrow (BS, MECH EGR, ’54; MBA ’71) and Dottie Withrow (BA, speech therapy and elementary education, ’55) to recognize members of the college who have demonstrated excellence in instructional and scholarly activities and rendered distinguished service to the university and the student body.

The 2023 awards and recipients are:

Gloria Stragier Award
Heather Hazzard, business manager for the Institute for Quantitative Health Science and Engineering (IQ) and the Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME) 

Spartans Will Award
Jessica Pung, academic program coordinator, Mechanical Engineering 

Excellence in Diversity Award - Emerging Accomplishments
Kristen Cetin, 
associate professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering 

Excellence in Diversity Award - Sustained Excellence
Susan Masten, 
professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering 

Withrow Global Leadership Award
Ramani Narayan, University Distinguished Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Withrow Student Service Award
Erica Weeks, director of academic advising, Engineering Undergraduate Studies

Withrow Teaching Excellence Awards
• Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering – Dawn Dechand
• Biomedical Engineering – Brian Johnson
• Chemical Engineering and Materials Science – Donald Morelli
• Civil and Environmental Engineering – Kaisen Lin
• Computer Science and Engineering – Borzoo Bonakdarpour
• Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering – Elizabeth Munch
• Electrical and Computer Engineering – Bahare Kiumarsi
• Mechanical Engineering – Rebecca Anthony

 Withrow Distinguished Scholar Award – Senior Scholars
Thomas Bieler, professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Xiaoming Liu – MSU Foundation Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Withrow Distinguished Scholar Award – Junior Scholar
Qi Hua Fan 
– associate professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Chemical Engineering and Materials Science