• Main Menu
Main Menu

MSU honors Pouyan Nejadhashemi

Sept. 18, 2019

A Spartan Engineer among four new MSU Foundation Professors

A leading expert in water resources modeling from the College of Engineering is among the four new MSU Foundation Professors announced by Michigan State University on Sept. 17. The designation is given to outstanding faculty members who demonstrate excellence in research and teaching while enhancing the prominence of the institution.

The expertise of Pouyan Nejadhashemi has earned him a designation as an MSU Foundation Professor.
The expertise of Pouyan Nejadhashemi has earned him a designation as an MSU Foundation Professor.

Amirpouyan (A. Pouyan) Nejadhashemi joins Laura McCabe, David Morgan, Terrie Taylor and 36 of their peers previously named MSU Foundation Professors.

“From human health to water resources, these scholars have each made important advances related to the world’s most challenging problems,” said Senior Vice President for Research and Innovation Stephen Hsu.

Nejadhashemi is a professor in the Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering and the Department of Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences. His research examines water and its distribution, movement and quality in a variety of environments.

Nejadhashemi has been the principal or a co-principal investigator on grants totaling more than $30 million. His research team has been consulted by many national and international governmental agencies to help make informed decisions on such subjects as water resource management, sustainable crop production and climate change mitigation strategies.

The author of roughly 100 peer-reviewed publications, Nejadhashemi has served on the board of several leading journals and led more than 150 oral and poster presentations at national and international conferences. In 2018, Nejadhashemi was elected to the board of the International Environmental Modelling and Software Society, the largest society of its kind in the world.

Other professors newly named MSU Foundation Professors are:

Laura McCabe, professor in the Departments of Physiology and Radiology, has long been engaged in exploring the mechanisms regulating bone cell differentiation and bone formation, and in developing new strategies for the prevention and treatment of osteoporosis.

• David Morgan, professor in the Department of Translational Science and Molecular Medicine in the College of Human Medicine, has spent his career studying the causes of Alzheimer’s disease. His research has led to several clinical trials, including a vaccine and antibody injections, to activate the body’s immune response and stop the buildup of a protein called beta amyloid in the brain.

• Terrie Taylor, University Distinguished Professor of Tropical Medicine in the College of Osteopathic Medicine, is an internationally recognized scientist and physician who has waged a 33-year battle against malaria.

New MSU Foundation Professors and other distinguished awardees will be recognized during a special investiture event on Sept. 26, 2019.

To view the full roster of MSU Foundation Professors or learn more about the nomination process, visit the website of the Office for Research and Innovation.

Read more on the newest MSU Foundation Professors in MSUToday

Story and photo courtesy of MSUToday.