2018-2019 SEE Scholars

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Sept. 4, 2018

MSU welcomes its newest cohort of Supporting Excellent Engineers (SEE) Scholars 

The second cohort of SEE Scholars -- engineering students at Michigan State University who were awarded scholarships from the Supporting Excellent Engineers (SEE) program -- was greeted during a reception in the College of Engineering on Aug. 28.Many of this year's SEE Scholars gathered Aug. 28 at a reception in the Engineering Building. Pictured are (front, left to right) Dayana Villagran, Zahji Billingslea, and Melissa Joslyn and (back) Quentin Wade, Nicholas DiTommaso, Kobie Davis, Ryanne Shaw, Jenna Magness, Alicia Ziegler, Sergio Sanchez, Evan Hanes, and Jordan Bommarito. 

SEE directors S. Patrick Walton, Daina Briedis, and Theodore Caldwell have teamed up to give scholars academic, professional, and social supports that, along with scholarship funds, will assist scholars in their pursuit of engineering degrees. SEE is supported by a $1 million grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF). SEE will support four cohorts of MSU engineering students during their second and third years of college. 

Walton is the Weir Associate Professor and associate chair in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science. Briedis is the assistant dean for Assessment and Student Advancement. Caldwell is the assistant dean for Student Diversity in the College of Engineering. 

The team from the College of Engineering collaborates with Lisa Linnenbrink-Garcia of the College of Education to study how SEE supports are helping students stay motivated to succeed. 

“Attracting talented students into STEM fields does little good if financial pressures derail a student before graduation,” Walton said. “SEE helps some of these students stay in school by providing support structures and connections to support their search for internship and co-op opportunities.” 

Caldwell said the list of support activities enhances both retention and graduation rates. 

“The data we collect help us form strategies for our college and other colleges of engineering, too,” Caldwell added.

The 2018-19 SEE Scholars are (* indicates members of the new cohort): 

Zahji Billingslea, junior, mechanical engineering

Jordan Bommarito, junior, mechanical engineering

* Kobie Davis, sophomore, mechanical engineering

* Nicholas DiTommaso, sophomore, chemical engineering

Evan Hanes, junior, civil engineering

* Ryan Heleski, sophomore, civil engineering

* Rolanda Hutson, sophomore, mechanical engineering

* Melissa Joslyn, sophomore, chemical engineering

Carrington King, junior, applied engineering sciences

George Legacy, junior, electrical and computer engineering

* Jenna Magness, sophomore, chemical engineering

Devin Moses, junior, mechanical engineering

Sergio Sanchez, junior, electrical and computer engineering

Ryanne Shaw, junior, mechanical engineering

* Dayana Villagran, sophomore, mechanical engineering

* Quentin Wade, sophomore, mechanical engineering

A.R. Zebdi, sophomore, mechanical engineering

Alicia Ziegler, junior, biosystems engineering 

 MSU's SEE Scholars work with (seated in center) SEE Directors S. Patrick Walton, Daina Briedis, and Theodore Caldwell, who team up to give the scholars academic, professional and social supports.