Two new NSF Fellows

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

May 17, 2018

Two from college receive prestigious three-year NSF fellowships for advanced study

Seventeen from Michigan State University were selected for the prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program this year -- with two coming from the College of Engineering.Matthew Moreno and Jason Sammut have been awarded prestigious three-year NSF fellowships for advanced study.

MSU also has 17 honorable mention awards, with three coming from the college.

The program is the country’s oldest graduate fellowship program that directly supports graduate students in various science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields.

NSF Graduate Research Fellows (GRF) benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 along with a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees, opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose.

This year’s NSF GRF recipients from the College of Engineering are:

Matthew Moreno's research is on evolvability and major evolutionary transitions using digital evolution techniques.Matthew Andres Moreno, a graduate student studying computer science in the College of Engineering. A second-year doctoral student, his advisor is Charles Ofria, a professor of computer science and engineering. His research is on evolvability and major evolutionary transitions using digital evolution techniques.

Jason Sammut, who graduated May 6 from MSU as an Honors College graduate majoring in mechanical engineering. He is now a first-year doctoral student at Penn State University in mechanical engineering, with a research interest in structural acoustics and dynamics.Jason Sammut is attending Penn State to research structural acoustics and dynamics.

The college had three honorable mentions in the NSF competition this year:

• Mohammed Alhaj, a PhD student in materials science,
• Sanders Aspelund, a PhD student in mechanical engineering, and
• Tyler Tuttle, a PhD student in mechanical engineering.

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. 

As the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, the program has a long history of selecting recipients who achieve high levels of success in their future academic and professional careers. Past fellows include numerous Nobel Prize winners, U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu, Google founder Sergey Brin, and Freakonomics co-author Steven Levitt.

Read more at MSUToday: