University Distinguished Professors

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Nov. 7, 2017

University Distinguished Professors: Shanker Balasubramaniam and Venkatesh Kodur featured in WKAR videos 

Two from the College of Engineering were honored during a university reception on Nov. 2 that recognized MSU’s 10 newest University Distinguished Professors. Those from the College of Engineering are:Shanker Balasubramaniam and Venkatesh Kodur among 10 honored as 2017 University Distinguished Professors at MSU. 

Venkatesh Kodur, University Distinguished Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and chair of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. 

Shanker Balasubramaniam, University Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and also the associate chair of Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering in the colleges of Engineering and Natural Science. 

WKAR produced videos on the newly designated distinguished scholars, which can be viewed at: 

Shanker Balasubramaniam“What drew me to Michigan State was its collaborative atmosphere among both faculty members and students.”

Venkatesh Kodur: “The facilities we have are number one in the world.”

2017 University Distinguished Professors
Ten MSU professors were named University Distinguished Professors by the Board of Trustees on June 21. The designations were effective immediately. 

The recognition is among the highest honors that can be bestowed on a faculty member by the university. Those selected for the title have been recognized nationally and internationally for the importance of their teaching, research and outreach achievements. 

Individuals holding the professorship will receive, in addition to their salary, a stipend of $5,000 per year for five years to support professional activities. 

See MSU Videos on all the 2017 distinguished professors. 


Portions of this story courtesy of MSUToday.