Another Goldwater Scholar

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

April 6, 2015

Rebecca Carlson named Goldwater Scholar for undergraduate STEM research

For the third time in two years, a student in the MSU College of Engineering has been awarded the nationally competitive Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.Rebecca Carlson becomes the third member of the College of Engineering in two years to be named a national Goldwater Scholar.

Rebecca Carlson, a sophomore from Rockford, Mich., majoring in chemical engineering and Chinese, earned the honor for her undergraduate STEM research. She is a research assistant in professor S. Patrick Walton’s Applied Biomolecular Engineering Laboratory, studying how RNA molecules interact in the design of treatments for diabetes mellitus.

Her MSU activities include being a member of the Honors College, the student editorial board for the Red Cedar Undergraduate Research Journal, Women in Engineering, and Bridges International. She is an MSU Alumni Distinguished Scholarship recipient.

“I am very humbled to receive this award, which is a testament to the wonderful support and encouragement that I have received from students and faculty alike at Michigan State,” Carlson said. “I am grateful for the chance to participate in research and learn from outstanding mentors.”

The Goldwater Foundation seeks scholars committed to a career in science, mathematics or engineering who display intellectual intensity and have the potential for significant contribution in their chosen field. The scholarship funds undergraduate tuition and living expenses for students planning careers in research.

Megan Kechner, an Honors College junior majoring in neuroscience and psychology, joins Carlson as a Goldwater Scholar at Michigan State. Kechner, from Davison, Mich., is a research assistant in professor Michelle Mazei-Robison’s lab determining the specific signaling changes in the human brain that contribute to addiction and mood disorders.

Additionally, two MSU students received honorable mentions in the Goldwater Scholarship competition: Christine Isaguirre, an Honors College sophomore majoring in biosystems engineering in the College of Engineering, and Aaron Oom, an Honors College junior majoring in biochemistry and molecular biology.

MSU has produced 42 Goldwater Scholars since Congress established the program in 1986. Last year, two students from the College of Engineering were the only MSU students selected as 2014 Goldwater Scholars. They were John Suddard-Bangsund, studying materials science and engineering, and interdisciplinary humanities, and David Zoltowski, an electrical engineering major.