Goldwater Scholar nominees

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Jan. 27, 2015

Two from MSU College of Engineering nominated for competitive national scholarship

Four undergraduate researchers studying in the science, technology, engineering and math fields have been nominated by Michigan State University for the nationally competitive Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

Two of the four nominees are from the MSU College of Engineering: Rebecca Carlson, an Honors College sophomore majoring in chemical engineering in the College of Engineering and Chinese in the College of Arts and Letters; and Christine Isaguirre, an Honors College sophomore majoring in biosystems engineering in the College of Engineering.

The Goldwater Scholarship provides funding for undergraduate tuition and living expenses for students who are planning careers in research.

Rebecca CarlsonRebecca Carlson
Carlson is from Rockford and graduated as valedictorian of Rockford High School. Prior to that, she lived in Italy for 14 years.

Carlson is on the student editorial board of the Red Cedar Undergraduate Research Journal. She is a research assistant in S. Patrick Walton’s Applied Biomolecular Engineering Laboratory and tutors in the college’s Cornerstone and Residential (CoRe) Experience.

She is a member of Women in Engineering and Bridges International. She earned a first place award at MSU’s University Undergraduate Research and Arts Forum. She is also the recipient of an MSU Alumni Distinguished Scholarship.

“I hope to help students develop an awareness of research in different areas of the world through exchange programs so that they can become effective international leaders,” Carlson said. “I also plan on leveraging these collaborations to enhance research on genetic diseases in ways that would be impossible otherwise.”

Christine IsaguirreChristine Isaguirre
Isaguirre is from Grand Rapids and graduated from Forest Hills Northern High School.

She is a research assistant in Wei Liao’s bioenergy lab, and took the semester off to work for Supply Chain Co-op in Raeford, N.C., which is part of the Unilever Home and Personal Care Plant.

Isaguirre is a member of the Society of Women Engineers and MSU’s Biosystems Engineering Club.

“Throughout my career I hope to be involved in bioenergy research. I strongly believe that reducing our dependence on fossil fuels, to the point where we eliminate our usage completely, is critical to continuing our current standard of living into the future,” she said. “To this end, I am excited to be working in a bioenergy lab on campus, assisting in research on biofuel production.”

MSU’s two other Goldwater Scholar nominees are Megan Kechner, an Honors College junior majoring in neuroscience in Lyman Briggs College and psychology in the College of Social Science; and Aaron Oom, an Honors College junior majoring in biochemistry and molecular biology in Lyman Briggs College. To read more on MSU Goldwater Scholarship nominees, visit: MSUToday.

MSU has produced 40 Goldwater Scholars since Congress established the scholarship program in 1986.

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Goldwater Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue research careers in these fields.

The National and International Fellowship and Scholarship (NIFS) Office at Michigan State University, administered by the Honors College, helps interested undergraduate and graduate students to pursue major national and international opportunities by providing information and direct support throughout the competitive application processes. The Honors College serves academically talented, committed students who wish to pursue and achieve academic excellence.


Story courtesy of the Honors College and MSU Today.