2015 Academy for Global Engagement

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Nov. 18, 2014

Five from college named as fellows to Academy for Global Engagement

Five College of Engineering faculty members will develop and enhance their international research portfolios as fellows of MSU’s 2015 Academy for Global Engagement.

Roozbeh DargazanyA total of 10 early-to-mid career tenure track faculty members were selected in the academy’s second cohort of participants.

The academy’s goal is to support faculty members in their global research activities and help them view their scholarship through a global lens.Sara Roccabianca

The 2015 academy begins in January. 

“The Academy for Global Engagement Fellowship program is a remarkable opportunity for faculty to develop and expand their view of global research,” said co-director of the academy Gretchen Neisler. “There is an obvious return on investment for both the faculty and the MSU community.”

The 2015 Academy for Global Engagement Fellows from the College of Engineering are:

Roozbeh Dargazany, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering,

Sara Roccabianca, assistant professor of mechanical engineering,

Nelson Sepulveda, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering,

Yanni Sun, assistant professor of computer science and engineering, and

Tim Whitehead, assistant professor of chemical engineering and materials science.

Nelson Sepulveda

Throughout the year, the 10 fellows will participate in monthly seminars that include building networks with funding agencies, refining their research agenda and navigating MSU’s grant system. The fellows also will have an opportunity to learn from seasoned research faculty at MSU through a mentoring system. 

“With more than 65 years of engagement in the international research and development arena, Michigan State is a leader in international development,” co-director of the academy Mary Anne Walker said. “These fellows are honing skills that will help them provide leadership to the university in the years to come.”

Yanni Sun


Five faculty members from the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources also were named. They are:

Cloe Garnache, assistant professor of agricultural, food and resource economics,

Nicky Mason, assistant professor of agricultural, food and resource economics,

Robert Montgomery, assistant professor of fisheries and wildlife,

Gerald Urquhart, assistant professor in Lyman Briggs College and department of fisheries and wildlife, and

Wei Zhang, assistant professor of plant, soil and microbial sciences.

Tim WhiteheadThe 2015 cohort follows the inaugural cohort in 2014, whose nine researchers have been active in diverse international activities. Read more on the 2014 Fellows.

To read more on the Academy for Global Engagement Fellowship Program.