Tenth Annual College of Engineering Alumni Awards Banquet

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

College of Engineering Alumni Awards winners

The College of Engineering recognized an influential teacher and eight alumni who have brought honor to themselves and the college through their professional and philanthropic achievements. The group was honored at the May 4 Alumni Awards banquet at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center.

Receiving the Claud R. Erickson Distinguished Alumni Award was Philip L. Fioravante, president of North America – Commercial, Global Quality, Procurement, and Program Management, with the Woodbridge Group, a $1.4 billion privately held Canadian company that manufactures urethane foam products.  The Erickson Award is the highest honor conferred by the MSU College of Engineering.  First awarded  to its namesake, Claud Erikson in 1982, the award is given to an alumnus with at least 15 years’ professional experience who has attained the highest level of professional accomplishment; provided distinguished and meritorious service to the college and the engineering profession; and has engaged in voluntary service at the local, state, national, and/or international level.

Seven other alumni received departmental honors. They were:  Randy Shacka, president of TWO MEN AND A TRUCK® INTERNATIONAL, Inc., the Applied Engineering Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award; Kevin Evans, senior technical manager, Beam Global R&D, the Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award; Morris C. Place, Jr., retired with more than 50 years experience in the oil and gas industry (primarily with Shell), the Red Cedar Circle Award in Chemical Engineering and Materials Science; His Excellency Dr. Khaled M.R. Abdulghani, chairman of the Saudi Gulf Environmental Protection Company (SEPCO Environment) and former mayor of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, the Civil and Environmental Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award; Keith Landau, president of the IMS Business Unit at GENBAND, the Computer Science and Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award; Timothy A. Adcock, director of the Texas Instrument Motor Lab in the Kilby Advanced Research and Development facility, Dallas, Tex., the  John D. Ryder Electrical and Computer Engineering Alumni Award;  Randall Stephens, chief engineer in product development, Toyota Technical Center, Ann Arbor, Mich., the Mechanical Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award.

The Green Apple Teaching Award was presented to Louise Paquette, a mathematics professor at Lansing Community College (LCC) and coordinator of the 2+2+2 Engineering Program, a collaborative effort between the Lansing Public School system, LCC, and Michigan State University. She mentors and advises 2+2+2 students while they are at LCC and ensures that students have a smooth transition to MSU’s College of Engineering.  The Green Apple award was established in 2006 to honor K-12 teachers who have inspired MSU College of Engineering students to study math, science, and engineering. This awardee was selected from nominations submitted by members of the College of Engineering senior class.