K. N. Subramanian Receives TMS Distinguished Scientist Award

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

May 21, 2012

K. N. Subramanian, professor of chemical engineering and materials science, is the recipient of the 2012 Electronic, Magnetic, and Photonic Material Division Distinguished Scientist Award from The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS). The award, which was presented at the 141st TMS Annual Meeting held March 11- 15, 2012, in Orlando, Fla., recognizes an individual for research excellence in one or more areas related to electronic, magnetic, and photonic materials science.

TMS is an international professional organization that encompasses the entire range of materials and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production to basic research and the advanced applications of materials.

The award citation recognizes Subramanian "for contributions in understanding of mechanical deformation, fatigue, creep, and electromigration of metallic, ceramic materials, and Pb-free solder joints in microelectronic applications." He was nominated for this award by Sung Kang of Microelectronics Packaging Technology Division at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, N.Y.

Subramanian's research activities include mechanical properties of metals and ceramics, crystallization of glasses, composite materials, and lead-free electronic solders. He is the author of Lead-Free Solders: Materials Reliability for Electronics, published by Wiley in 2012.