Tonghun Lee Winner of PECASE Award

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

September 26, 2011

Tonghun Lee, associate professor in MSU's Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been recognized by the White House with a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). The PECASE Award is the highest honor bestowed by the U. S. government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their research careers.

Lee was nominated for the award by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) for contributions in the development of multi-spectral high speed laser diagnostics for both advanced hypersonic propulsion and energy conversion systems. His research is focused on applying advanced laser diagnostics for next generation propulsion and energy systems research, including plasma enhanced combustion for scramjets, multi-spectral high-speed laser imaging of reactive flows, ignition characterization of advanced biofuels, and development of alternative energy conversion systems. The award will provide a five-year, $1 million research grant for continued research and development of Lee's program.

Prior to coming to MSU in 2006, Lee was a research assistant and PhD candidate at Stanford University. Lee has been the recipient of numerous academic and teaching awards including the AFOSR Young Investigator Program Award, the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program Award, and the Defense University Research Instrumentation Program Award (DURIP).

The PECASE Awards embody the high priority the Obama Administration places on producing outstanding scientists and engineers to advance the nation's goals, tackle grand challenges, and contribute to the American economy. Sixteen federal departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America's preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.

Read more about the awards and view list of all 94 recipients

Learn more about Lee's research