ChEMS Department Seminar

Event Date/Time: 
December 6, 2018 - 9:10am
Event Location: 
3540 EB
Susan Fullerton
Using Ions to Control Transport in 2D Materials


Two-dimensional (2D) materials are molecularly thin, layered materials held together by van der Waals forces. Because charge moves freely in the 2D plane, these materials have potential application in electronics; however, conventional doping strategies have not been developed for 2D materials. An alternative approach is to use electrolyte gating. Under an applied gate voltage, ions in the electrolyte create an electrostatic double layer (EDL) at the interface between the electrolyte and the semiconductor; the EDL can induce sheet carrier densities on the order of 1014 cm-2 for both electrons and holes – more than one order of magnitude larger than conventional gating techniques. Our group seeks to translate EDL gating from a measurement tool for exploring transport to an active device component that enables new functionality at the ultimate limit of scaling. I will describe our work using polymer electrolytes to dope transistors based on graphene and transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDs), and our development of new types of electrolytes for applications in security and information storage.  Specifically, I will introduce a monolayer electrolyte developed by our group and show the first device characteristics on graphene and MoS2 FETs.


Susan Fullerton is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh. She earned her Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering at Penn State in 2009 and joined the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame as a Research Assistant Professor.  In 2009 she started the Nanoionics and Electronics lab at Pitt, focused on using ion-conducting materials to develop low-power nanoelectronics based on 2D crystals. In 2018, Fullerton was recognized by AAAS with a Marion Miligan Mason award for Women in Chemical Sciences, and by ORAU with a Ralph E. Powe Jr. Faculty Award in 2016.  For more information: