Skip to main content

Shanker Balasubramaniam

You are here

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
2120 Engineering Building
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48824

Brochure on Dr. Shanker's research interests for ECE and CMSE.

Ph.D, 1993, Pennsylvania State University
M.S., 1992, Pennsylvania State University
B. Tech, 1989, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India
B. Shanker received his B'Tech from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India in 1989, M.S. and Ph.D in 1992 and 1993, respectively, from the Pennsylvania State University. From 1993 to 1996 he was a research associate in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Iowa State University where he worked on the Molecular Theory of Optical Activity. From 1996 to 1999 he was with the Center for Computational Electromagnetics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as a Visiting Assistant Professor, and from 1999-2002 with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Iowa State University as an Assistant Professor. Currently, he is an Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Michigan State University. He has authored/co-authored over 300 journal and conferences papers and presented a number of invited talks. His research interest include all aspects of computational electromagnetics (frequency and time domain integral equation based methods, multi-scale fast multipole methods, fast transient methods, higher order finite element and integral equation methods), propagation in complex media, mesoscale electromagnetics, and particle and molecular dynamics as applied to multiphysics and multiscale problems. He was an Associate Editor for IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters (AWPL), is an Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, and is a full member of the USNC-URSI Commission B. He is Fellow of IEEE, elected for his contributions in computational electromagnetics. He has also been awarded the Withrow Distinguished Junior scholar (in 2003), Withrow Distinguished Senior scholar (in 2010) and the Withrow teaching award (in 2007).