Alumni Awards

You are here

Civil and Environmental Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award

Photo of Joseph Anthony Sopko Jr., Distinguished Alumni Award recipientRecipients of this award, first presented in 2003, must be: graduates of the department; national leaders in their profession; contributors to the department, the college, or the university in some meaningful way; and community leaders whose actions reflect favorably on Michigan State University. Nominations are made by faculty, alumni, and other supporters of the department. The department's professional advisory board selects the winner.

2016 Joseph Anthony Sopko Jr. BS '80 MS '83, PhD '90 Civil Engineering
2015 Penny Wirsing BS '83 Civil Engineering
2014 Kin Keung Lai MA '75 Statistics & Probability
PhD '77 Operational Research & Transportation Engineering 
2013 H.E. Dr. Khaled M. R. Abdulghani  MS '79, PhD '82 Civil Engineering
2012 Sandra Woods BS '76 Civil Engineering
2011 Larry E. Tibbits PE, BS '69 Civil Engineering
2010 W. F. Marcuson III MS '64 Civil Engineering
2009 James K. Wight BS '69, MS '70 Civil Engineering
2008 Frank J. DeDecker BS '49 Civil Engineering
2007 Paul H. Woodruff BS '59, MS '61 Civil Engineering
2006 Alton L. Granger BS '54 Civil Engineering
2005 Ben C. Maibach III BS '68 Civil Engineering
2004 Leroy R. Dell P.E., DEE BS '66 Civil Engineering