Ilce Medina-Meza, PhD, assistant professor in BAE was honored with the 2023 Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor

You are here

May 10, 2023

Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor of the Year award recipient

Dr. Medina-Meza is an assistant professor in the Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering and currently leads the College of Engineering’s Food and Health Engineering Laboratory. Medina-Meza’s nominating student praises her “extraordinary commitment to undergraduate research,” as well as her “unwavering guidance and help navigating unexpected circumstances.” Medina-Meza’s undergraduate nominator expressed appreciation for her “willingness to answer any call, text, or email” no matter the time or day of the week. She is known for fostering an environment where students feel comfortable taking risks and performing new experiments, developing leadership skills as their confidence grows. Since 2018, Medina-Meza has mentored over fifty undergraduate students and eight graduate students. She encourages them all to participate in internships and programs that support their goals, and her determination to help others applies not only to students but to anyone who seeks her advice.

 Two Faculty Mentor of the Year awards are given annually – one representing science and engineering and one representing the social sciences and humanities. One Research Supervisor of the Year award is presented annually and recognizes supervisors who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to mentoring undergraduate researchers. Conferred at the University Undergraduate Research and Arts Forum (UURAF) Award Ceremony on Wednesday, April 26, 2023, these awards celebrate outstanding mentors who exemplify what it means to take ownership of student success. The Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor of the Year and Research Supervisor of the Year awards are completely student-driven, as only undergraduate researchers can submit nominations and the university’s undergraduate Research Ambassadors review and select the finalists.


Originally Posted by MSU Undergraduate Education