Withrow Teaching Excellence Award


March 24, 2014

The College of Engineering honored faculty and staff members for excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service at the 24th annual Engineering Awards Luncheon March 13 at the University Club of MSU.

Leo Kempel, acting dean of the College of Engineering, offered the welcome and congratulated the winners of some of the college’s most prestigious awards.

Withrow Teaching Excellence Awards honor faculty teaching, advising and mentoring skills. One faculty member is selected from each academic unit, based primarily on nominations from students. 

Recipients of the 2014 Withrow Teaching Excellence Awards are:

  • Christopher M. Saffron, assistant professor of biosystems and agricultural engineering, chemical engineering and materials science and forestry;
  • Dennis Miller, professor of chemical engineering;
  • Neeraj Buch, professor in the pavements area and chair of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering;
  • Anil Jain, University Distinguished Professor of computer science and engineering;
  • Donnie Reinhard, professor of electrical and computer engineering; and
  • Tamara Reid Bush, assistant professor of mechanical engineering.

Withrow Distinguished Scholar Awards were presented to two faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in scholarship.

The Withrow Distinguished Scholar Junior Award was presented to Guoliang Xing, associate professor of computer science and engineering.

The Withrow Distinguished Scholar Senior Award was presented to Christina Chan, professor of chemical engineering and materials science.

The Withrow Exceptional Service Award, which is presented to a faculty member who demonstrates exceptional institutional, public service and community service, went to Thomas F. Wolff, associate dean for undergraduate studies.

The Withrow Student Service Award, which is presented to an advisor for outstanding service to students, went to Timothy Hinds, curricular director of the Cornerstone and Residential Experience (CoRe).

The Gloria Stragier Award for Dedicated and Creative Service, which is presented to a staff member in the college to recognize exceptional job performance and creative leadership, went to Gregg Mulder, instructional/equipment and supplies technologist for the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Certificates of recognition honoring service to student organization and student team advisors were presented to:

  • Daina M. Briedis, 30 years service to Omega Chi Epsilon,
  • Thomas F. Wolff, 15 years service to the Student Engineering Council and Tau Beta Pi,
  • Teresa I. Vandersloot, 10 years service to Women in Computing,
  • Wen Li, five years service to Eta Kappa Nu and
  • Kyle P. Foster, five years service to the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers.

See the entire Withrow Awards Program booklet.

Withrow Award Winners 2014

Those honored at the 2014 Engineering Awards Luncheon were (back): Dennis Miller, Gregg Mulder, Anil Jain,
Timothy Hinds and Christopher Saffron; and (front): Donnie Reinhard, Guoliang Xing, Christina Chan,
Tamara Reid Bush and Neeraj Buch. Missing from the photo is Thomas F. Wolff.

Civil and Environmental Engineering