ASM Henry Marion Howe Medal


The ASM Henry Marion Howe Medal for 2015 has been awarded to the paper “In Situ Characterization of Twin Nucleation in Pure Ti Using 3D-XRD” published in Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A by a group of researchers that includes one current and one former APS staff member as well as a former APS visiting scientist.

Co-authors of the paper and co-recipients of the award include Thomas R. Bieler, Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at Michigan State University; Leyun Wang, a materials scientist at Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht Center for Materials and Coastal Research (Germany); Armand J. Beaudoin, Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (retired); Peter Kenesei, a staff member in the APS X-ray Science Division (XSD) Materials Physics & Engineering (MPE) Group; and Ulrich Lienert, manager with Rüntgen- Ångström-Cluster, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (Germany).

For more information see the full news article on the Advanced Photon Source Argonne National Laboratory website.

Award Description: 
The Henry Marion Howe Award was established in 1923 and is awarded in memory of a distinguished teacher, metallurgist, and consultant, to honor the author (or authors) whose paper has been selected as the best of those published in a specific volume of Metallurgical and Materials Transactions.
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science