Fall 2013
ENE 802: Physicochemical Processes in Environmental Engineering
 

Assignments

Recommended background reading

  • MWH-1 chapter 4

List of assignments

  1. Water properties. Water quality standards.
  2. Gas transfer. Air stripping. Adsorption
  3. Coagulation/Flocculation. Sedimentation
  4. Granular bed filtration.
  5. Membrane processes. Disinfection.

 Posted assignments

Homework assignment #1
  • Posted on Friday, August 30
  • Due by 10:20am on Thursday, September 12
Homework assignment #2
  • Posted on Sunday, September 29
  • Amended version (posted on Tuesday, October 10)
  • Due by 10:20am on Tuesday, October 15
  • Solutions (posted on Friday, October 18). This file contains solutions to problems 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6. Problem 3 solution will be uploaded separately over the weekend.
  • Problem 3 solution (posted on Sunday, October 20)
Homework assignment #3
  • Posted on Monday, October 28
  • Due by 10:20am on Thursday, November 7
  • Solutions (posted on Monday, December 2)
Homework assignment #4
  • Posted on Tuesday, November 12
  • Revised version (pdf) posted on Thursday, November 14
  • Due by 10:20am on Thursday, November 21
  • Solutions (posted on Monday, December 2)

Course project: case study, assignment

  • Posted on Thursday, November 14
  • In class discussion: Tuesday, November 26
  • Written report is due by Thursday, December 5
Homework assignment #5
  • Posted on Tuesday, November 26
  • Due by by 10:20am on Thursday, December 5 (submission by email to tarabara at msu.edu)
  • Solutions (posted on Tuesday, December 10)