Department of Mechanical Engineering

Faculty Profiles

Cover of Research Profiles

Click here to download our Research Profiles magazine (PDF)

 

Anthony, Rebecca

517-432-7491               anthon92@msu.edu

profile

Plasma synthesis and processing of semiconductor nanocrystals with an emphasis on gas-phase techniques.

Averill, Ronald

517-353-7188              averillr@egr.msu.edu

profile

Computational mechanics, composite structures, laminated plate theory, crashworthiness, design optimization, finite element method.

Baek, Seungik

517-432-3161               sbaek@egr.msu.edu

profile

Cardiovascular mechanics, vascular growth and remodeling, mechanobiology and  tissue engineering,  and computational and statistical interventions for vascular diseases.

Benard, Andre

517-432-1522               benard@egr.msu.edu

profile

Transport phenomena in materials processing, heat transfer, polymers and composites microstructures, multiphase problems, finite elements.

Brereton, Giles

517-432-3340                brereton@egr.msu.edu

profile

Turbulence and its prediction, unsteady fluid mechanics, IC engine flows, cardiovascular flows, nucleation and non-equilibrium thermodynamics, nonlinear acoustics.

Bush, Tamara

517-353-9544               reidtama@egr.msu.edu

profile

Biomedical, mechanics of seating, hand function, musculoskeletal dysfunction, pressure ulcers, soft tissue responses to loading.

Choi, Jongeun

517-432-3164               jchoi@egr.msu.edu

profile

Systems and control, Bayesian methods, mobile robotic sensors, environmental adaptive sampling, engine control,  biomedical problems.

Cloud, Gary

517-355-9574               cloud@egr.msu.edu

profile

Experimental mechanics; optical techniques in strain measurement; fracture; fasteners; mechanics of composite materials.

Diaz, Alejandro

517-353-9861               diaz@egr.msu.edu

profile

Optimal design of structures and materials, topology optimization, finite element methods.

Engeda, Abraham

517-432-1834               engeda@egr.msu.edu

profile

Experimental thermo-fluids, turbomachinery flow analysis and design, design and testing of centrifugal and regenerative flow compressors and pumps, gas turbine combustion.

Feeny, Brian

517-353-9451               feeny@egr.msu.edu

profile

 

Dynamics and vibration.  Nonlinear dynamics, chaos, modal decomposition, friction dynamics, waves, and system identification.

Foss, John

517-355-3337               foss@egr.msu.edu

profile

Analytical experimentation, general fluid mechanics, turbulent shear flows, vorticity measurements, and automotive applications.

Gianaris, Nick

517-884-1810               gianari2@msu.edu

profile

Composite materials.

Haq, Mahmood

517-884-1617               haqmahmo@egr.msu.edu

profile

Developing light-weight, multi-functional adhesively bonded composite joints for vehicle applications.

Haut, Roger

517-355-0320               haut@egr.msu.edu

profile

Impact-trauma biomechanics, orthopaedic biomechanics, experimental mechanics.

Jaberi, Farhad

517-432-4678               jaberi@egr.msu.edu

profile

Thermal-fluid science, turbulence, mixing and reaction, large scale, high performance computations, statistical modeling, multiphase transport, propulsion, micro-scale transport, combustion.

Koochesfahani, Manoochehr

517-432-2464               koochesf@egr.msu.edu

profile

Turbulent shear flows and turbulent mixing, unsteady fluid mechanics and aerodynamics, stability of shear flows, micro and nano flows, optical diagnostics techniques.

Kwon, Patrick

517-355-0173               pkwon@egr.msu.edu

profile

Material issues in design and manufacturing, manufacturing processes, mechanical behavior of materials, microstructured and graded materials.

Lillehoj, Peter

517-432-2976               lillehoj@egr.msu.edu

profile

BioMEMS, nanotechnology, microfluidics, biosensors, and point-of-care diagnostics.

Liu, Dahsin

517-353-6716               liu@egr.msu.edu

profile

High strain rate effect due  to impact and blast.Development of transparent Quasi-3D composite.Peridynamic simulation of damage process.

Loos, Al

517-432-0844              aloos@egr.msu.edu

profile

Heat transfer and flow phenomena in materials processing; mathematical modeling of manufacturing processes; mechanics of materials; finite element analysis; polymeric composite manufacturing; mechanics of composite materials.

Mueller, Norbert

517-432-9139               mueller@egr.msu.edu

profile

Turbomachinery, centrifugal compressors, wave rotors, refrigeration and HVAC with natural refrigerants.

Mukherjee, Ranjan

517-355-1834               mukherji@egr.msu.edu

profile

Robotics, computer assisted surgical procedures, motion planning and feedback stabilization of nonholonomic systems, active magnetic bearings.

Naguib, Ahmed

517-432-1616               naguib@egr.msu.edu

profile

Experimental fluid dynamics, development of innovative sensors for wall-pressure and wall-shear-stress measurements.

Pence, Tom

517-353-3889               pence@egr.msu.edu

profile

Analytical and computational modeling, highly deformable solids (rubbers, polymers, gels, tissue, complex soft media),  failure of composites, shape memory stents.

Pourboghrat, Farhang

517-432-0189               pourbogh@egr.msu.edu

profile

Warm forming, metal and composite sheet thermo-hydroforming, tube hydroforming, temperature and rate-dependent material models.

Schock, Harold

517-353-9328               schock@egr.msu.edu

profile

Thermodynamics, combustion, optical diagnostics, turbulence, internal combustion engines.

Shaw, Steve

517-432-3920               shawsw@egr.msu.edu

profile

Dynamics, vibrations, and nonlinear systems.

Somerton, Craig

517-353-6733               somerton@egr.msu.edu

profile

Transport phenomena in porous media, computer aided design of thermal systems, convective heat transfer, heat transfer in automotive applications.

Tabaczynski, Rod

517-355-1789               rtabaczy@gmail.com

profile

Thermodynamics, internal combustion engines, turbulent microscales, sustainable energy, electrification of the automobile and biofuels.

Tekalur, Srinivasan Arjun

517-884-1608               tsarjun@egr.msu.edu

profile

Composite materials, impact mechanics, biomimetics.

Thompson, Brian

517-355-2179               thompson@egr.msu.edu

profile

International development, Humanitarian Engineering, Creative thinking.

Toulson, Elisa

517-884-1549               toulson@msu.edu

profile

Combustion, ignition, alternative fuels, thermodynamics and internal combustion.

Wichman, Indrek

517-353-9180               wichman@egr.msu.edu

profile

Combustion and flame studies related to fire and theoretical combustion, analytical modeling, computational modeling.

Wright, Neil

517-432-4917               ntwright@egr.msu.edu

profile

Heat transfer; thermophysical property measurement; parameter estimation; thermal biology.

Xiao, Sharon

517-884-1606               xinran@egr.msu.edu

profile

Mechanical behavior of metal, polymer, composite materials, fracture, fatigue, crashworthiness, multiphysics phenomena.

Yeom, Junghoon

517-432-9132               jyeom@msu.edu

profile

Scalable and inexpensive patterning techniques and nanomanufacturing platforms for assembling  nanomaterials, portable/wearable gas sensing systems, synthesizing and testing high-temperature, regenerable sorbents.

Zhu, George

517-884-1552              zhug@egr.msu.edu

profile

Closed loop combustion,  automotive system ID and optimal control of hybrid powertrain systems, modeling and HIL simulation, combustion sensing, control of TEG, smart material in automotive systems.