Department of Mechanical Engineering


Go Ramp, a wheelchair that carries its own ramp for traversing small obstacles, highlighted by Smithsonian magazine.
Dr. Peter Lillehoj and colleagues received NIH R01 grant to investigate malaria. His research is entitled “Rapid in-field malaria diagnosis, prognosis and monitoring using a mobile phone."
Awarded for fundamental contributions to the modeling and control on underactuated systems with applications to robotics
Dr. Indrek Wichman's article on fires in microgravity is both printed in the Jan/Feb 2016 issue of American Scientist as the lead article but is also the cover of that month's issue.
Dr. Norbert Mueller to become Inaugural Member of MSU Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors
Tom Pence Elected Member at Large in The U.S. National Congress on Theoretical & Applied Mechanics (UNCTAM)
William F. Resh Presented Mechanical Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award
Chris Cater, PhD student of Sharon Xiao,took 1st Place in the Student Simulation Challenge for the American Society for Composites 29th Technical Conference
Sixth Place at 2014 International Formula SAE
MSU sent a "fairly young team" to the 2014 International Formula SAE competition in Lincoln, Neb.The young Spartans did not disappoint.