Enable Internationalization in Windows XP

NOTE: Microsoft and DECS are no longer supporting Windows XP. For more information regarding the end of XP support, click here. If you are still running Windows XP, please contact the DECS Support Office (353-8891, support@egr.msu.edu) for options.

1.     Go to the Control Panel by clicking Start and then Control Panel.

2.     If you are not already in "Classic View" do so by clicking Switch to Classic View on the left side of the window. Now choose Regional and Language Settings.

3.     Click on the Languages tab. Here there are two checkboxes. If you check the box titled Install files for complex script and right-to-left languages, you will get Arabic, Hebrew, Thai and some Indian languages. Checking the East Asian Languages box will install languages such as Japanese, Korean and Chinese.

4.     Selecting Details under Text services and input languages will allow you to input a language and method. Select the appropriate input language and method under Default input language. Options for switching between languages are displayed by selecting Language Bar. Other keyboard options are available in the Key Setting dialog. Selecting Add... will bring up a box which allows you to change the input language and the characters generated on a normal keyboard. To do this, choose the desired input language, then click the checkbox before Keyboard Layout/IME and then select the appropriate language from the drop-down menu. Now click OK.

5.     Clicking the Advanced tab in the Regional and Language Options window brings up more options. The top box is labled Language for Non-Unicode programs. In general, it is not possible to know which programs support Unicode and which do not. Therefore, if you are working in Korean some of your programs will show Korean fine, and others will not. If your program does not correctly display Korean, the solution is to set the system default code page to Korean. To do this in Windows XP you have to set the Language for Non-Unicode programs to Korean, and then Korean will show up correctly in all applications. This setting is required for Arabic, Hebrew, Asian languages, Russian and any language whose alphabet is different from Western European.