PhD Defenses

Upcoming PhD Defenses

Name Department Announcement Date Time Location
Jun Zhang Electrical and Computer Engineering Modeling, Identification, and Control of Hysteretic Systems with Application to Vanadium Dioxide Microactuators Tuesday, December 1, 2015 - 1:30pm 2219 Engineering Building
Oishi Sanyal Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Design of Polyelectrolyte Multilayer Membranes for Ion Rejection and Wastewater Effluent Treatment Friday, December 4, 2015 - 9:00am 3540 Engineering Building
Andrew Temme Electrical and Computer Engineering Electromagnetic Material Characterization of Flames and Notes on Other Laboratory Works Friday, December 4, 2015 - 9:00am 3405 A/B Engineering Building
Chun Liu Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Engineering Approaches for Nerve Repair Monday, December 7, 2015 - 10:30am 3540 Engineering Building

Past PhD Defenses

Name Department Announcement Date Time Location
Aaron Oberg Chemical Engineering and Materials Science The Gas-Phase Conversion of Bio-Derived 5-Methylfurfural to 2,5-Dimethylfuran Tuesday, November 24, 2015 - 2:30pm 3540 Engineering Building
Tianlong Song Electrical and Computer Engineering Efficient and Secure System Design in Wireless Communications Thursday, November 19, 2015 - 1:30pm 2108 Engineering Building
Jian Li Electrical & Computer Engineering Capacity Assurance in Hostile Networks Wednesday, October 7, 2015 - 3:30pm 3112 Engineering
Timothy Luchini Mechanical Engineering Permeability Of Fiber Reinforcements For Liquid Composite Molding: Sequential Multiscale Investigations Into Numerical Flow Modeling On The Microand Mesoscale Thursday, September 24, 2015 - 10:30am CVRC Conference Room
Cory Sarks Chemical Engineering Understanding And Improving High Cell Density Fermentations With Cell Recycle Using AFEX Treated Corn Stover For Ethanol Production Thursday, September 3, 2015 - 12:00pm 3540 EB
Prianca Bhaduri Civil & Environmental Engineering Exposure To 2,3,7,8-Tetrachlorodibenzo-P-Dioxin Differentially Impacts Key Members Of Mice Gut Microbiome Wednesday, September 2, 2015 - 2:00pm C103 Engineering Research Complex
Amir Arablouei Civil Engineering A Fracture Mechanics-Based Approach For Modeling Delamination Of Spray-Applied Fire-Resistive Materials From Steel Structures Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 1:00pm 3546 EB
Radha Chitta Computer Science & Engineering Kernel-Based Clustering of Big Data Tuesday, August 25, 2015 - 10:00am 3105 EB
Qi Qian Computer Science & Engineering Large-Scale High Dimensional Distance Metric Learning And Its Application To Computer Vision Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 9:00am 3112 EB
Victor Karthik Electrical & Computer Engineering Shape Optimization Using Finite Element Analysis In Eddy Current Testing And Electro-Thermal Coupled Problems Friday, August 7, 2015 - 1:00pm 2219 EB
Sivamayam Sivasuthan Electrical & Computer Engineering Software Tools for Finite Element Optimization in Magnetics on a GPU Wednesday, August 5, 2015 - 9:00am 2108 EB
Yimu Zhao Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Transparent Luminescent Solar Concentrators Monday, August 3, 2015 - 2:00pm 3540 EB
Wouter Brink Civil Engineering Local Calibration Of The Pavement Performance Prediction Model Using Resampling Techniques Tuesday, July 28, 2015 - 10:00am 3546D EB
Jikai Lei Computer Science & Engineering Computational identification and analysis of non-coding RNAs in large-scale biological data Wednesday, July 22, 2015 - 10:00am 3105 EB
Yunsung Kim Materials Science Enabling Higher Energy And Power Density Lithium Ion Batteries Through Electrode Design And Solid-State Electrolytes Wednesday, July 15, 2015 - 1:00pm 3540 EB
Hassan Aqeel Khan Electrical Engineering Kernel Methods For Biosensing Applications Wednesday, July 8, 2015 - 1:00pm 2205 EB
Brian Goldman Computer Science & Engineering Out of the Box Optimization using the Parameter-less Population Pyramid Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 1:00pm 1455A Biomedical and Physical Sciences (BPS)
Azadeh Sheidaei Mechanical Engineering Multiscale Modeling of Polymer Nano-Composites Monday, June 22, 2015 - 3:00pm 3450 EB
Masoud Mirmomeni Computer Science and Engineering Evolution of Cooperation in the Light of Information Theory Monday, June 22, 2015 - 1:00pm 1455A Biomedical and Physical Sciences (BPS)
Nan Hu Civil Engineering Tailoring The Elastic Postbuckling Behavior Of Thin-Walled Axially Compressed Cylindrical Shells Tuesday, June 2, 2015 - 1:00pm 3540 EB
Noraica Davila Melendez Electrical & Computer Engineering Infrared Electro-Thermo-Optical Devices Based on the Phase Transition of Vanadium Dioxide Monday, June 1, 2015 - 10:00am 2219 EB
Ted Burye Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Nano-Micro-Composite Cathode Infiltrated Particle Size Control And Oxygen Surface Exchange Resistance Determination Friday, May 29, 2015 - 12:00pm 3540 EB
Yiyan Lin Computer Science and Engineering Automated Addition Of Fault-Tolerance Via Lazy Repair And Graceful Degradation Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 10:00am RM 3105
Shalabh Srivastava Mechancal Engineering Modeling and Simulations of Evaporating Spray, Turbulent Flow and Combustion in Internal Combustion Engines Wednesday, May 13, 2015 - 1:00pm 3540 EB
Eric Norige Computer Science & Engineering Hardware Algorithms For High-Speed Packet Processing Friday, May 8, 2015 - 11:00am 3105 EB